Previous Teams

Opti Poly
Harvard BioDesign 2017

The 2017 team created a model for optimizing biological synthesis curli fiber biofilms by regulating the expression of proteins involved in the production pathway. E. coli were engineered with varying strengths of the ribosomal binding site (RBS) at the csgG gene encoding a curli transport membrane protein. The team found that varying RBS strength has a significant effect on curli fiber production, providing support for their model. The team received a bronze medal for their work.

Team members included: Adriano Borsa, Yasmeen Fakhro, Erin Kim, Hyeon-Jae Seo, Lien Tran.


Harvard BioDesign 2016

The 2016 team created a system for remote oceanic plastic sensing using E. Coli engineered to break down PET and a microbial fuel cell. ​The team received a gold medal and were nominated for best in track (Environment).

Team members included: Gabriela Berner, Will Cho, Rebekah Chun, Mofeyifoluwa Edun, Yasmeen Fakhro, Lorena Lyon, Kevin Shani, and Daniel Um. 

Harvard BioDesign 20152015

The 2015 team created a platform for binding E. Coli specifically to different materials, including cancer cells and iron particles. The team received a gold medal and were nominated for best in track (Foundational Advance).

Team members included: Ethan Alley, Lydia Goldberg, Elizabeth Hubbard, Sylvia Deppen, and Benjamin Zheng.

Harvard BioDesign 2014

The 2014 team created a sensing system in E. coli to store information about the cells’ environment. The team received a bronze medal for their work. 

Team members included: Nicholas Larus- Stone, Michelle Long, Jonah Saltzman, and Tiana Wilson.

© 2018 BY Harvard iGEM. Proudly created with

This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now